Kenya Ports Authority


Kenya Ports Authority (KPA) is a state corporation under the Ministry of Transport with the responsibility to “maintain, operate, improve and regulate all scheduled seaports” along the Kenyan coastline including principally Port of Mombasa and other smaller ports including Lamu, Malindi, Kilifi, Mtwapa, Kiunga, Shimoni, Funzi and Vanga.

It is also responsible for the operation and management of Inland Container Depots (ICDs) in Nairobi and Kisumu It has liaison offices based in Kampala and Kigali to cater for all transit countries.


After gaining independence in 1963 Kenya collaborated with it’s East African neighbours, Tanzania and Uganda in 1967 to set up the East African Community (EAC).

A new authority, the East African Harbour Corporation,to run the principal ports of Dar es Salaam, Mombasa and the oil port of Tanga.

There was notable positive development under this new organisation.

However the EAC collapsed in 1977, the running of Kenya’s ports was taken over by the national government, which established the Kenya Ports Authority (KPA) in 1978.

Total Cargo Throughput

2011: 19,952,522 Tons

2012: 21,919,529 Tons

Total Container Traffic

2011: 770,000 TEU

2012: 903,463 TEU

Areas Served by the Ports

  • Burundi
  • DR Congo
  • Ethiopia
  • Rwanda
  • South Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Uganda

Related Documents

Customer service charter:


KPA Handbook (2012 – 2013):


KPA Bandari Newsletter (April 2013):

General Contact

Kenya Ports Authority
PO Box 95009 – 80104, Mombasa, Kenya
Tel: +254 41 211 3999, +254 41 211 2999
Fax: +254 41 231 1867